Martha or Mary?

I can identify myself with both Martha and Mary.  Many times we miss the opportunities of just being able to relax and enjoy GOD’S presence, and just sit at the feet of JESUS. We struggle with this from trying to get all our stuff done first and then go sit at the feet of JESUS. We allow the worries of this world to get in the way of receiving all that GOD has to offer to us.

“Jesus Visits Martha and Mary”- Luke 10:38-42:
As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed HIM into her home. Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what He taught. But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”
But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and IT WILL NOT be taken away from her.”

Mary knew what her priorities were and she had them in the right order. GOD is first in everything of our life. We must put GOD first, or it is we who miss all of what GOD wants to offer us. If we put GOD first, everything else will fall into its rightful place.

This past weekend me, along with some of my sisters in CHRIST from church attended an all women’s retreat. The all women’s event was called “SOAK”.

We stayed in cabins together there, and  we shared meals together. We sang songs of praise to the LORD together. We worshipped GOD together. Best of all, we were able to just “SOAK” up all of HIS PRESENCE.

This event was put together to show us how to become more like Mary, and learn to be less like Martha.  It also showed us that there is so much more to worshiping JESUS other than from just our singing. I learned so much in this day and half that was spent there. It was so very special. If you have ever seen the movie the shack,  this is what it reminded me of in so many ways. BTW, If you haven’t seen that movie yet, please go BUY it.  It’s so inspirational.

GOD IS SO GOOD. HE ALWAYS KNOWS JUST EXACTLY WHAT WE NEED, AND HE GIVES IT RIGHT WHEN WE NEED IT. I needed this past weekend so much. I needed that time with GOD, just me and HIM.

We just need to learn to spend more time in HIS presence. It is we who miss out on all of who GOD is when we allow the cares of our own world to overtake us. GOD knows we all have things to do. Nothing though is more important than spending time in HIS PRESENCE.

Going to church is not something that we do out of obligation to GOD. GOD does not need anything from us. We go to church because it is so special to be in HIS PRESENCE with the body of CHRIST, (that is the other believers of CHRIST)

As painful as it is for me to admit this, there use to be a time in my life that I was not going to church for the right reasons. During that time, I realize now that I was trying to earn something that was already “FREELY GIVEN.” I actually use to believe that if I just went to church that this would be pleasing enough to GOD, for that particular Sunday, and then I could just go right back to my living “my life” how I wanted. That’s not right. That’s not biblical, and that is absolutely not pleasing to GOD. Living a life for GOD is a sacrifice. It’s going to cost us something, but I can guarantee you this, that no matter what we “think” it’s going to cost us, it’ll never be anywhere near to what CHRIST gave, the ultimate sacrifice to GOD with HIS LIFE.

JESUS CHRIST came down here lowly to earth. HE humbled HIMSELF right away at the very start by being born in a manger. JESUS left HIS seat at the right hand of GOD. JESUS CHOSE to do this, SO THAT WE COULD LIVE. So let us examine ourselves. Is what we bring to GOD really that much of a sacrifice? It’s an honor to be HIS! It’s an honor to be chosen by GOD. That’s the thing, GOD chooses HIS people!!!  This is what I cannot wrap my head around, and this is what I cannot understand and that is why GOD did you choose me? GOD, what is it about me that makes you love me?

We are just filthy rags to GOD, but yet HE still LOVES US!!! GOD loved us long before we ever loved HIM.

Thank you LORD GOD for loving us. LORD GOD, we are so very undeserving, but we are so very thankful. Teach us ALL OF YOUR WAYS LORD. You provide the fire, and we will provide the sacrifice. LORD, you provide YOUR SPIRIT, and we will open up our hearts inside. FILL US UP GOD. FILL US UP.

Nothing is more important than GOD! Nothing will ever be more important than HIM! When we get this in the right order, putting HIM First, above everything else, GOD will take care of the rest that we got going on. Put GOD first! GO TO CHURCH. GO TO CHURCH TO SEEK HIS PRESENCE. SEEK HIM. DRAW NEAR TO HIM, AND HE WILL DRAW NEAR TO YOU!!!!! REMAIN IN HIM, AND LET HIM REMAIN THERE IN YOU. YOU WILL NEVER EVER BE SORRY YOU DID!!!! I am going to church now for the right reasons. I am going to be in HIS presence. I hate to see church end. I just want more and more. One day we will no longer be worshiping in spirit, but instead we will be worshiping in the direct presence of GOD. It will be just like it was always meant to be. Everything that we are doing here is just simply a rehearsal for what we will one day be doing in Heaven. May we rehearse it well.

Good day all!

Much love too!

❤️Shellie Maheu

 

 

Leave a comment