Bring the new Wine skins

A599F728-81D0-47B2-BC32-585D4D35DC87

No one puts a piece of unshrunk cloth on an old garment, for the patch tears away from the garment, and a worse tear is made. Neither is new wine put into old wineskins. If it is, the skins burst and the wine is spilled and the skins are destroyed. But new wine is put into fresh wineskins, and so both are preserved.”-Matthew 9:16-17

GOD is the GOD of new beginnings and second chances! GOD is the GOD of endless chances! GOD is the GOD that pours out HIS great mercy and grace upon us. GOD is bringing on the new wine. In order for the new wine to come we have to rid ourselves of the old wine skins. I look at that as ridding ourselves from anything that could potentially cause a delay for the newness of GOD.

Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.—Isaiah 43:18-19

In order for GOD to bring on the new, we must let go of the old. The former things have no place in our lives anymore. The things of the past are just exactly what they are, they’re the past. I don’t know who this writing for today is for, but I do know that am writing it because it absolutely does apply to me in this season that I’m in right now. It’s inconceivable to me when I try rationalize it on my own just how much Satan uses against GOD’S people to throw us off track. We must be just as deliberate as the devil is though and be ready for whatever he throws at us. “Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning.”- Psalm 30:5.

7F6C19A0-8920-4510-A31C-E4FB70D0DBD0
We don’t have to fight Satan on our own, and we’re not suppose to or expected to. In fact I know every single time that I have called out JESUS’ name, while in my own pits of hell and times of my deepest sorrow and despair, that the only way that I felt any of my peace return was when I called out HIS great name. THERE IS ABSOLUTE POWER IN THE NAME OF JESUS! Regardless if we move on the faith HE’S given us or not, because GOD doesn’t depend on us to do what HE does, or to be true to HIS own self and character-2 Timothy 2:13. Nothing can withstand the name of JESUS! No amount of evil or darkness can remain when we call on HIM!!

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart”—Jeremiah 29:11-13

AE7549F7-FBD6-4ACD-83A9-8B48E7D4C52D

LORD GOD, bring on the brand new. Give us a renewed heart. Give us a brand new spirit too. Give us a new mind, that even our very thoughts will come completely under your commands. I know without doubt that I heard your gentle and subtle voice when you said “YOU WILL WIPE AWAY ALL OF MY TEARS.” LORD GOD, I am ready right now. Take these tears. Dry them up! Make the hurt leave right now. Bring on the new wine skins. Take the yoke that was formed from sin and break it completely down. Strip everything away that is of no value to you right out of our lives. Make us within our renewed spirit be vessels of honor. Give us a new song. Give us a new voice. Bring on the new wine. These old wine skins are ready to go.

The Whole Armor of God
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end, keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel,  for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak. —Ephesians 6:10-20

🙏🏻 Shellie Maheu

 

3 thoughts on “Bring the new Wine skins

  1. “LORD GOD, bring on the brand new. Give us a renewed heart. Give us a brand new spirit too. Give us a new mind, that even our very thoughts will come completely under your commands.”
    Amen! Thanks for the teaching and prayer this Sunday morning Shellie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment